The Duke of Edinburgh's Award
The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award programme is a real adventure from beginning to end. It doesn’t matter who you are or where you’re from. You just need to be aged between 14 and 24 and realise there’s more to life than sitting on a sofa watching life pass you by.

The Award is a Marathon not a Sprint, it is a real adventure. Every section gives you something different - that's the fun of it! You’ll enjoy loads of new experiences, discover talents you never thought you had, challenge yourself and meet loads of people just like you. Plus you’ll do things you love and get a kick out of. It’s a real buzz!

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award will give you skills, confidence and a view on life that everyone is looking for, from employers to colleges and universities. You get recognition for doing things you want to do (and may even be doing already). You’ll also make a difference to other people’s lives and your community, be fitter and healthier, make new friends and have memories to last you a lifetime. You can do programmes at three levels, Bronze Silver or Gold, which lead to a Duke of Edinburgh's Award.


You achieve an Award by completing a personal programme of activities in four sections (five if you're going for Gold). These sections are:

  • Volunteering - helping someone, your community or the environment
  • Physical - becoming fitter through sport, dance or fitness activities
  • Skills - developing existing talents or trying something new
  • Expedition - planning, training for and completing an adventurous journey
  • Residential (Gold only) - staying and working away from home as part of a team


You'll find yourself helping people or the community, getting fitter, developing skills, going on an expedition and taking part in a residential activity (Gold only). You get to choose what you do!

Miss F Paterson
(Award Leader)
(Mountain Leader)
Mr W Kay
(Mountain Leader)
Mr I Ballantyne
(Lowland Leader)
Mr S Kerrigan
(Fife Trek Leader)
Mr R Graham
(Lowland Leader)

At Madras we have an active (and often oversubscribed) Award group. Pupils can join at any level but must complete that level before moving on to the next level. Bronze starts in S3 (age 14), Silver in S4 (age 15) and Gold in S5 (age 16), though most pupils take a year off and complete gold in S6.

In school, the commitment involves weekly meetings for expedition training and preparation, along with between 2 and 4 weekends for further training (first aid, navigation) and the two expeditions (practice and qualifying) that need to be completed for that section. The other 3 (4 at Gold) sections are done out with school and involve the pupils organising to get involved with local projects, sports and activities for between 3 and 18 months (depending on Award level being completed) they should demonstrate commitment and perserverance (not a desire to “get finished as quick as possible”.

For further information look at the individual award levels.